Tuesday, September 30, 2008

Omar And The Howlers
Hard Times In The Land Of Plenty

- CD rip, 320 kbbs / Label: CBS 450948 2
Released in 1987.
Omar signed with CBS/Columbia Records in 1987 and cut "Hard Times in the Land of Plenty". This third album was a breakthrough for the band, receiving extensive airplay in the USA and Canada and earning an Edison award in Holland and sold in excess 500,000 copies!
Since then there have been another dozen albums, all of them featuring Omar’s guitar and voice, which reviewers describe as a cross between Howlin’ Wolf in his prime and the warning growl of a large primate. I didn't make this up myself, it's says so on his homepage.
The music is heavy bluesrock oriented. And if you happen to like swamprock than you got lucky because it has a strong Creedence Clearwater Revival feeling.
1. Hard Times in the Land of Plenty 2. Dancing in the Canebrake 3. Border Girl 4. Mississippi Hoo Doo Man 5. Don't Rock Me the Wrong Way 6. Same Old Grind 7. Don't You Know 8. You Ain't Foolin' Nobody 9. Shadow Man 10. Lee Anne

Wednesday, September 10, 2008

Carmel - More, More, More; 3 albums by Carmel

London Records 1984, 1986, 1987
cd-rip 320 Kbps

Their first single "Storm" reached No 1 in the independent charts and CARMEL was signed immediately to London Records. Carmel exploded onto the international stage with the release of the singles 'Bad Day' and 'More, More More' both of which went top 20. Their first album, "The Drum is Everything" reached 19 in the UK charts and by 1985 Carmel McCourt was named Best Jazz Vocalist.
In 1986 they released their second album "The Falling" which put them firmly in the spotlight. The single Sally went to No.5 in the French charts and legendary singer Johnny Halliday joined Carmel for a duet.
The 1987 album "Everybody's Got a Little... Soul" and the following single " It's All In the Game", both went gold.
If you happen to like Duffy, you're gonna like this too. If you don't like Duffy than give this a chance starting with "The Falling"
Drum Is Everything: 1. More, More, More / 2. Stormy Weather / 3. Drum Is Everything / 4. I Thought I Was Going Mad / 5. Prayer / 6. Rockin' on Suicide / 7. Rue St. Denis / 8. Willow Weep for Me / 9. Tracks of My Tears / 10. Bad Day
The Falling: 1. I'm Not Afraid of You / 2. Let Me Know / 3. Tok / 4. Falling / 5. Mama Told Me NT to Come / 6. Mercy / 7. Easy for You / 8. Sticks and Stones / 9. Sally
Everybody's Got a Little...Soul: 1. Hey Hey / 2. It's All In The Game / 3. Every Little Bit / 4. Nothing Good / 5. Azure / 6. Sweet And Lovely / 7. Jazz Robin / 8. Lay Down / 9. I Do And Do / 10. Hey Hey (Baby) / 11 It's All In The Game (12'')

The Drum Is Everything

The Falling

Everybody's Got a Little Soul

Saturday, September 06, 2008

Tommy Denander
Less Is More

©1995 Nobel House Music
320 Kbps

As a follow up to my "vacation" post here is another Tommy Denander album. Again, the Pocaro brothers are present. Mike Porcaro on bass, Jeff Porcaro on drums, Steve Porcaro programming.

Don't know why this one's subtitled 'part one'. A 'part two' hasn't seen the light of day, yet. 

Tracklist: 01. Forever / 02. Window To Your Heart / 03. Sincere / 04. I'll Be Your Friend / 05. Sorry / 06. The Way You Love / 07. Exit Hollywood No:5 / 08. Manitou / 09. 5492-