Sunday, April 15, 2007

John Lennon, Harry Nilsson, Eddie Money, Rosanne Cash, Alternating Boxes, Roberta Flack, Elvis Costello, Trio, Spirit Choir, Sean Ono Lennon

Every Man Has A Woman

©1984 Polygram Records

This started out in 1979 as a hobby project from Harry Nilsson who wanted to record some of Yoko's songs. John Lennon sugested to make it a 50th birtdaypresent for Yoko. John recorded only one song; Now Or Never with The Spirit Choir (using the original Yoko Ono music tape). An imbecile shot John before he could record more. After John's murder Elliot Mintz and Samuel Havadtoy completed his work.

So this album featured songs which were written by Yoko Ono and recorded by other artists. Don't let the fact that Yoko wrote the song scare you off. The Harry Nilsson versions are great and the Alternating Boxes' "Dogtown" and Elvis Costello's "Walking on Thin Ice" are more than okay too. Among these tracks was this unreleased John Lennon track. But later it was made known that this track is the same song as on Double Fantasy (where Yoko sings lead and John did the backingvocals). They just made a remix with Yoko's lead vocal mixed out.

Every Man Has A Woman Who Loves Him (John Lennon) 3:32 / Silver Horse (Harry Nilsson) 3:07 / I'm Moving On (Eddie Money) 2:47 / Nobody Sees Me Like You Do (Rosanne Cash) 3:23 / Dogtown (Alternating Boxes) 3:26 / Goodbye Sadness (Roberta Flack) 3:22 / Walking On Thin Ice (Elvis Costello and the Attractions) 3:46 / Wake Up (Trio) 2:22 / Dream Love (Harry Nilsson) 3:46 / Now Or Never (Spirit Choir) 3:44 / Loneliness (Harry Nilsson) 3:42 / It's Alright Sean (Ono Lennon) 2:27


Anonymous said...

Thank you so much for this album, i have been looking for it for years, thank you so much

Anonymous said...

I've been looking for Eddie Money's song, "I'm Movin' On," for years. It's one of his best but can't be found. THANKS!!!!

Emily said...

Interesting to know.