Sunday, January 13, 2008

The Marvel World Of Icarus

LP Pye NSPL 28161 (1972)

Each of the players on this rocking album with a strong progressive touch presents themselves as comic character. The lyrics likewise deal with the vicissitudes of these heroes. Each track is thematically about a different hero - "Spiderman", "Hulk", "Thor", "Captain America"...well you get the idea, lending the album a comparatively agreeable degree of fun. Although the band gigged quite a bit the album sank like a stone and has been an expensive rarity since then. As the instrumental and vocal abilities of the band are no less than good, the only flaw is the lack of outstanding compositions, although a few highlights are present nonetheless. These include the scary intro to 'Hulk', the propelling rhythms of 'Conan The Barbarian', almost all flute parts, almost all of the opening track on the B-side, 'Thor' and the slightly psychedelic 'Silver Surfer'. All in all fun to listen to.

Steve 'Hulk' Hart (vocals), John 'Spiderman' Etheridge (guitar), Jimmy 'Thing' Wiley (bass), Iain 'Thor' Hills (keyboards), Norrie Daredevil' Devine (Saxaphone), Peter 'Conan The Barbarian' Curtain (drums)

Tracks: 1. Prologue (0:35)/2. Spiderman (2:53)/3. Fantastic Four (3:21)/4. Hulk (3:04)/5. Madame Masque (3:48)/6. Conan The Barbarian (4:07)/7. Iron Man (2:55)/8. Thor (4:49)/9. Black Panther (3:24)/10. The Man Without Fear (3:57)/11. Silver Surfer (4:05)/12. Things Thing (2:01)/13. Captain America (2:32)

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

it's a beatiful music, great vinyl
thanks from Chile